Growing Climate Solutions Act; March 23rd at 10am EDT, 9:00am CDT, 8am MDT, 7am PDT

https://nam12.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.iatp.org%2Fevent%2Fwebinar-carbon-farming-why-carbon-markets-wont-work-farmers-climate&data=04%7C01%7C%7Ced6604e42c93486402e108da0c5bb46e%7C84df9e7fe9f640afb435aaaaaaaaaaaa%7C1%7C0%7C637835885252178029%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000&sdata=U3lQ8tGKoV10emtLJIdSPskaalaXsaroBIdq5CwJoB4%3D&reserved=0

March 23rd at 9:00am CDT

WEBINAR: Carbon Farming — Why carbon markets won’t work for farmers and the climate

Join us for a free webinar open to the public on March 23 organized by IATP and the European Coordination of La Via Campesina (ECVC). Register for the webinar today!

Webinar Translations

EN-DE, EN-FR 

Webinar Description 

The European Commission (EC) has proposed carbon farming as a major strategy to help the EU remove carbon dioxide from the atmosphere. The EC hopes to certify carbon credits to help meet its net zero goal by 2050. A central part of this plan is the certification of carbon credits for agriculture, sold on carbon markets and bought by corporations and investors. The EC will unveil a carbon removals certification legislation later this year. The EC communication states: “an increasing number of private carbon farming initiatives have emerged where the land managers sell carbon credits on voluntary carbon markets. The potential for carbon farming is significant and it is the right moment to scale up high quality supply at EU level.”

Yet, carbon farming credits have had a problematic history for more than a decade. What is the state of the science and economic costs of measuring and accounting for carbon farming? What has been the experience of farmers, and have carbon farming credits been effective in reducing GHGs? Why does a carbon market approach for agriculture undermine a shift towards agroecology, farmers’ choices and climate ambition? What is the way forward and how can the EU best support farmers and climate action? 

These are some of the critical questions that will be addressed in this webinar. Farmers, experts and policymakers from the U.S., Canada and the EU will share their knowledge and perspectives on carbon markets for agriculture. They will discuss how governments can support farmers and a transformative agriculture agenda while ramping up climate ambition.   

Webinar Organizers

Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy (IATP) & European Coordination of La Via Campesina (ECVC)

The webinar will be recorded and the recording will be sent to attendees and registrants. 

Moderator

Shefali Sharma, Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy

Speakers 

Expert Panel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.